Vote for Peace II: A Report on the 2010 Somaliland Presidential Election Process

On 26 June 2010, the people of Somaliland went to the polls to elect a new president for the second time since declaring independence. The incumbent President Daahir Rayaale Kaahin lost to the main opposition candidate Axmed Maxamed Maxamuud Siilaanyo in an election considered credible by local and international observers, which was followed by a peaceful transfer of power to an extent rarely seen in African politics.