This brief report describes the establishment of the Transitional Government in Namibia on 17 June 1985 scheduled to be in office for two years. It will be composed of the National Assembly, Ministers’ Council, Constitutional Council and Constitutional Court, and Pretoria retains control over Defence and Foreign Affairs. The report describes the background to the new government from 1977 until the present, as well as the political, international, strategic and economic implications of the new dispensation.