African Commitments to Democracy in Theory and Practice: A Review of Eight NEPAD Countries

"This report reviews the progress of democratisation in Algeria, Ethiopia, Ghana, Kenya, Nigeria, Senegal,South Africa and Uganda from the end of the Cold War until today. These eight countries were chosen because they have all signed up to the African Peer Review Mechanism (APRM); they are central contributors to the New Partnership for Africa’s Development(NEPAD); and they represent a good geographical spread on the African continent.However, the study focuses on democratisation, and not on the existence of fully-fledged democracies. Viewed from this perspective, the picture looks brighter. All eight countries are more democratic today than in the late 1980s."